Day 2. Ørsnesvika – Stokmarknes. 100km

Posted: July 10, 2012 in Cycling, Norway
Tags: , ,

I was on the main road: the E10, and I made a mental note to avoid main roads if possible. Cars passed by at full speed, as did large trucks.

Then I turned on the scenic route to Fiskebøl, and what a scenic trip it was. But first, just after the turnoff, I got a flat tyre.

20120709-231745.jpg

I think I damaged the inner tube when putting the tyre back on, and had to remove everything twice. Still, I got quite proficient at the end. And in this time the sun came out and it was a glorious, sunny day from that time on.

First I passed a stunning lake with pointy mountains as a backdrop.

Austvågøya

Austvågøya

Austvågøya

Austvågøya

After a nice lunch in Sandsletta camping ground, I moved on and passed some amazing fjords.

Austvågøya

Austvågøya

Austvågøya

Austvågøya

Austvågøya

Austvågøya

Austvågøya

Austvågøya

I even saw some beach cows.

Beach cows

Beach cows

 

In Fiskebøl I caught the ferry to Melbu. In the boat I met a German: Volker. We got chatting and decided to cycle a bit together. He was going to Stokmarnes to camp: about 30km away. I wanted to go to my Couch Surfing hosting in Sortland, some distance further on the next island.

My plans of cycling all the way to Sortland (at least along the scenic route) were not realistic. In making these plans I was studying 2 different maps with different scales, and did a common trick of misjudging distances. 🙂 Anyway, while cycling to Stokmarnes it soon became clear that with head wind and hills, Sortland was not on.

Hadseløya

Hadseløya

 

And then I got another flat tyre and changed the inner tube. That was the nail in the coffin. No worries. I have time.

I had a nice evening chat with Volker. He is doing a nice round trip circuit from Bodø to the north and back. We rode about 20km together and may ride more in the coming days.

Comments
  1. […] Highlight 3: Skirting the northern coast on Austvågøya on the Lofoten islands on the way to Fiskebøl. Majestic mountains, fjords and serene tranquility. […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.